When life gives you lemons, make lemon-meringue

13 Jan

I have learnt an important lesson this weekend. And a tasty one too. Here it is, take a look:

Lemon-meringue pie, also called YAMMY!

Lemon-meringue pie, also called YAMMY!

Macarons with lemon marmalade filling

Macarons with lemon marmalade filling

After my latest kitchen catastrophe, which involved a baking tray set in fire, and all the times I have called myself “the girl who even failed at making Rice Krispie cakes”, I decided to do something different.
So I whipped up a lemon-meringue pie and even braved myself to make macarons, those little cakes that can apparently go wrong in million different ways and make baking art. When I told my sister about my intention to battle these cutely coloured but bad-tempered sweets, she actually gasped a little bit. She probably started designing an emergency escape plan righ there and then, with an appropriate bomb shelter mapped on it just in case I blew up the kitchen.

But guess what?

I managed to make them, and they were delicious! And *drum rolls please* …so was the cake! And out of everyone who ate them, I think I was the most surprised by this. Because I had held this view about myself for so long, this thought that I’m not precise enough person to cook or bake. Yes, I admit, I am still clumsy and there was flour all over the walls. But they were the flag of victory I threw in the air! Because I realised, I had been wrong about myself.

So, when life gives you lemons, make some lemon-meringue.

Firstly, because it’s delicious! And secondly, because I guess it is how they say: You never know just how strong and brave you are before you find yourself pushed out of your comfort zone.
So, when life sets you challenges, don’t be afraid to rise up to them! Remember to dust your beliefs about yourself every once in a while. Otherwise you might miss the little things, like my new tiny best friend le macaron, that give you the opportunity to see the world in a different light!
So be pleased to meet yourself, every day, with a smile and fresh eyes. You might just find you’re stronger, more creative, more surprising than you ever imagined.

And if sometimes you try and try and things still go wrong, don’t feel bad. Just make some more meringue. Then at least you have a cake to eat. This is a win-win plan right here.

4 Responses to “When life gives you lemons, make lemon-meringue”

  1. sethsnap January 13, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

    Wow, what great lemon gifts you made 🙂

    • daydreamdaisies January 14, 2013 at 10:18 am #

      Thank you, I’m afraid their life was happy but rather short. There’s only left-overs now. 😀

  2. Britton January 14, 2013 at 1:38 am #

    Lol

    Hmm yummilicious indeed!!

  3. Mikko March 19, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    “Jostain syystä ihminen luulee osaavansa piirtää vain neliöitä kunnes jonain päivänä vahingossa piirtääkin ympyrän”.

    Ne oli kyl herkullisia mut en ite ehtinyt syödä niitä macarooneja ku pari, höh! 😀

Leave a Reply

