Scarlet blush

31 Dec

 

Right, I’m not actually at all sure whether Romantic Monday is still going on but I still want to give you the love you deserve. So you’re getting a poem from me anyway.

This one is not just about love, it’s also about asking. Why is it so hard to ask for help when you’re in need, why is so scary to voice your inner dreams? Have you ever thought about that? Is it because it makes you vulnerable? If so, why is it bad to be vulnerable?

It’s tempting to keep on rambling about this poemΒ  because somehow it feels particularly important to me. But since I did the asking, I’m going to leave the answering to you.

So do you dare to call out to your dreams, do you dare to listen to yourself and voice yourself this coming year? What do you wish for when the fireworks burst at midnight?

 

Scarlet blush

 

When my expressions

Become splintered

Like a thinning lint of a cloud

Ripped down, torn away

From the shining canvas above

 

When all the lines of my skin rest limb

Emaciated out of emotion

When they have given up running

Tingles down my spine, searching

For the prickling electricity of human touch

 

Will you come then to rescue me

Will you trace those lines alive

Dive deep into me and push apart

That skinny ice, that crippling

Cobweb veil covering my stilled eyes

 

Will you find and gather

All the loose ends of love we’ve scattered

Will you plant them around our hearts

Sew them into a lacy wallpaper where

The escaped threads of our souls entwine

 

Till they grow into a shelter

A shielding ivy cottage and look

All the tulips bending their bashful necks

Blossoming into bright scarlet blush

When we move together…

 

Wishing you all a lovely New Year! And peace and love, as always.

 

6 Responses to “Scarlet blush”

  1. Britton December 31, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Mortals in this being itself are both vulnerable N strong I guess. Delving into myself will lead me to a kind of chaos which at the same time will push me to come out of my comfort zones and without doubts it needs a world of effort from my part to reach finally into lucidity. Maybe to bypass all these, we may bury all our dreams, and inner voice.

    Well, well, I think u like the word expression very much hmm?? Met it here as well πŸ™‚

    • daydreamdaisies January 1, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

      Yeah it certainly is easier to just float through your life and focus on the sensible, safe choices. And there’s nothing wrong with sensible in a way, but if it means you have to bury your dreams it can get very exhausting in a long haul. The most panicky thing for me is probably that life is full of choices and I want them all but I know there is no way I can ever experience the whole spectrum. I’m trying to learn how to remain excited about seeing life and travelling and still be content in the present moment.
      And haha yeah, I see where you’re coming from. πŸ˜€ This poem was a sequel to my “Be free” post in a way, it was sparked off by it. I was thinking how we should address ourselves when we struggle, how we should trust ourselves and remain faithful, believe that good will come again even if we feel tired/sad/lonely etc. But that’s only one way of seeing the poem, that’s why I didn’t want to explain it in the actual post. Now everyone can form their own visions and meanings.

      • Britton January 1, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

        Sometimes, we will of course think as like that philosopher: “choice is a curse” If there’s no choice we would be happy with the existing option alone πŸ™‚ Remain excited is good, but i want to add one more to it: be spontaneous to life.

        You words explain you as a hardcore believer of positivism πŸ™‚

        How abt positivism through negativism?? Did u ever encounter such a situation hmm??

      • daydreamdaisies January 8, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

        Truth stalkers is what I produced inspired by this wonderful discussion we’ve had and of course by your story! I hope you like… whethet it’s the positivism through negativism you talked about I’m not sure but there is some darker moments in it. But life wins, life always tends to I find. πŸ˜€

  2. themisanthropicmuse January 2, 2013 at 2:46 am #

    “Will you come then to rescue me

    Will you trace those lines alive

    Dive deep into me and push apart

    That skinny ice, that crippling

    Cobweb veil covering my stilled eyes”

    Love, love, LOVE this stanza!

    • daydreamdaisies January 3, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

      Thank you so much, I’m really grateful when people read my words but when they feel them enough to comment, wow. You’re making me beam here. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

