Romantic Monday: Unravelling (and writer’s block, the devil)

12 Nov

It has been a bit quiet round here. As much as I would have loved to post, my self-criticism has stopped me from writing. During the weekend my worry-free expression seemed to turn itself into a nitty-gritty, grammar picking, nasty perfectionist troll whenever I tried to write.

I wrote a post which I then trashed. I wrote another one. That  one I published for an hour or so (progress)… and then trashed it too. Every blogger’s nightmare-pattern was emerging.

But now that my trash folder has been fully fed for a while, I told myself: This is not going to become a vicious cycle. Today I’m going to write.

Because today is a special day, today is another Romantic Monday. And no way am I going to let fear of failure and silly doubts spoil romance for me. That is a good advice for both writing and love, I guess.

So you’re going to get a poem today. And I also have a photo for you, to shoo away your writer’s blocks and console you if you too have been struggling and wordless:

Photocredit: southernfriedchildren.blogspot.com

So whether it is a blog, NaNoWriMo or a particularly vicious essay you’re working on, just write! Even if you’re scared, even if it all comes out as a waterfall of gibberish, don’t let it stop you.

You have potential. Don’t stop believing. (I’m sorry if you now have the Glee version of that song in your head.)

And now I’m going to practise what I preach. So here is for another Romantic Monday! Yikes, I hope you like it!

Unravelling

I do not know your lips

The tumbling currents of words

Flowing behind them, the wild winds

They have so boldly met or

The raw, pulsing secrets of life

They hold in hiding

Your lips are a mystery

And yet, I do not fear

Their uncertainty, their silence

And the painful erosion they can bring

I do not fear to trace all the seams

Of this frosty, fragile beginning

Simply because your lips, they exist

And they could be my shield

And their smile my jewel amulet

They leave me gushing

Like I had a jolting baby bird

Jailed inside my chest, still warm

From being born into its nest

Your lips unravel me

They invite me, they hold my breath

Call out my emotions

On a tight thread, on a journey

To become the pilgrims of your heart

And my laugh follows yours

It is a soft-sounding wind chime

So gently struck by your lips

Fooled into singing

This post is part of a beautiful Romantic Monday-craze, find out more about it here.

19 Responses to “Romantic Monday: Unravelling (and writer’s block, the devil)”

  1. hastywords November 12, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    Your words…..I can’t even express how beautiful they are and how they inspire me! Never fear what your heart wants to say!

    • daydreamdaisies November 12, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      And I can’t express how much your words mean to me. Thank you so much for giving me such encouragement and confident boost. The environment here really is beautifully creative and supporting, don’t know how I coped before I knew all you lovely people! Thank you.

  2. thecheekydiva November 12, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    It’s beautiful! Don’t ever be a-scared again! Your writing is sublime. How haunting. The first touch of those lips is something never forgotten. You’ve stoked the flame in me, my new friend. Still struggling with today’s Romantic Monday post of my own, which, ironically, leads to a first kiss. Or does it? 😉

    Thank you!!

    • daydreamdaisies November 12, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

      Can’t wait! I had a peek and saw you have published it now, so I have to run off to witness the kiss fast! But first, thank you so much for your words, they mean the world to me. I feel so encouraged and moved by everyone’s comments and support. Sniff. (I am so soppy, ugh. 😀 But seriously, I appreciate it.)

      • thecheekydiva November 12, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

        I published something different. Hum drum every day stuff. Real and lame, but real nonetheless. 🙂

      • daydreamdaisies November 12, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

        Real and fantastic more like! Love it.

      • thecheekydiva November 12, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

        I think you have a girl crush on me today! 😉

      • daydreamdaisies November 12, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

        On your writing at least 😀 You’re being too modest about it.

  3. ruleofstupid November 12, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    This is very lovely, poor quivering bird 🙂

    • daydreamdaisies November 12, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      It will take flight (maybe, who knows when it comes to love) But thank you so much my friend! 🙂

      • ruleofstupid November 12, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

        We lust in the skies – love is an ocean 🙂

      • daydreamdaisies November 12, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

        I sense you’re in the philosophical mood today! I like it.

  4. Oracle of the Pearl November 13, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    BEAUTIFUL poem. This strikes me, right here *pointing at chest/heart*.
    Thank you.
    I love it.
    Wonderful post, and I might add, you have no reason to fear; you’re a beautiful writer and I enjoy your words.
    All the same, I feel you and hear you. It’s part of why I wrote my “Imposter Complex”.
    You, please keep writing, always.
    Pearl

    • daydreamdaisies November 13, 2012 at 10:57 am #

      Thank you so much, you have just made my day. I feel so honoured by your words. Perhaps I’m on the journey to more fearless.
      And oh, I hope you don’t mind that I nominated you for the ‘One Lovely Blog’ award, your art is so beautiful and touching I thought it deserved a place there, it already has a place in my heart.

      • Oracle of the Pearl November 13, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

        You’re very kind. I look forward to reading more of your words.
        Pearl

  5. sjp October 20, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    Self-doubt is the ever present demon, glad you were able to push past and release such a beautiful poem 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. MY SEASON OF LOVE – A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords - November 12, 2012

    […] DayDreamDaisies […]

  2. Romantic Monday~ A Dreadful Poem « The Cheeky Diva - November 12, 2012

    […] Daydreamdaisies […]

  3. Cherry Blossom Puzzle – A Rainy Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur - November 12, 2012

    […] Daydreamdaisies – Unravelling […]

Leave a Reply

