Killing Skeletons

8 Nov

This piece I wrote together with Hastywords (check out her beautiful work!), my first poetry duet ever yay!  Thanks for the amazing writing company, Hasty. There is nothing to refresh your creativity and perspective like brainstorming ideas and getting together with someone. So my advice for you today is: Don’t be alone in life. Everyone here has something precious to give.

 

Killing skeletons

I walk the halls of endless nights

Looking for the perfect escape

Conversations shouting at me

Scattered behind each door

 

And the words, pawing sniffing

Scampering words of past come

Knocking down my soul, they ask

Why would we let you pass?

 

A cacophony of accusations

Scratching clawing behind the walls

Skeletons tired of picking bones

Clamoring to see the light of day

 

Hungry they wait till I break

Their ribcages and transform them

Into boats of fond remembrance

Watch them float into future

 

The hallways vacant and silent now

All the ghostly prisoners set free

I open all the windows

Allowing new visions to take shape

 

Till my soul is filled with nakedness

And the happiness hot on my eyelids

Forges me a new sight

Till all is bathed bare and fresh

5 Responses to “Killing Skeletons”

  1. Oracle of the Pearl November 9, 2012 at 2:56 am #

    Oh my, I like this. Just wonderful, and gripping. Thank you-
    Pearl

  2. Elisebird November 10, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    It’s nice! I like it a lot! 🙂

  3. Debarghya Mukherjee November 11, 2012 at 3:10 am #

    Nice poetry…

  4. withheldindarkness November 14, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    Well integrated poet for written as a collaboration (it fits seamlessly together). I read a poem about letting go off the past (especially the negatives) and moving on with life, and surrounding oneself with happiness rather than regrets and those that pull you down (my interpretation anyway). It is a great message to put out there, and perhaps one many people should take heart in?? Thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturday Poetry Sampler #5 – Such A Saturday « Lyrical Anarchy - November 17, 2012

    […] Daydreamdaisies and Hastywords – Killing Skeletons […]

Leave a Reply

