The faithful (Romantic Monday)

24 Oct

I first got pulled into this company of lovers and romanticers and great writers by Hastywords, thanks for finding me!

I think turning Mondays from gloom to celebration of romance and love is one step in making this world a better place, so I’m glad to take part! Other gorgeous Romantic Monday posts can be found here, as well as the rules and the man who we get to thank for this great idea!

This idea inspired tingling words in me, and I know my poem Illogicalities of being in love was already listed, but I just had to write another one, a new one. The Illogicalities was posted on Tuesday anyway… and there can never be enough love in the world, right?

So here’s to Monday romance.

(Edit: Some of you might be confused as to why this was posted here today. The thing is, I was totally under the impression it was Monday…  I should obviously spend a bit less time daydreaming and more learning the calendar days. No wonder I’m always late. Oh well, time is relevant right? So have a romantic Mond.. err Wednesday! Hope you like the poem!)

 

The faithful

 

I promise you this,

I will stay by your side.

The moon can move oceans

but not me.

 

I will be the solid pebble, grounded

and unmoving in every tide’s turning.

I will accept your absence and welcome

the sea’s caress like it was you.

 

So go, my bird boy, fly

and see if it’s lonely up there where

only wind plays with your feather hair.

Forget my fingers and lips, my hips

that beg for your skin, your kiss.

 

Go, my dove, go now

because I can see your flutter and shake,

your quest, your curious gaze

that tiptoes across the Andromeda

and meets the first snowflake

with fresh wonder of the explorer

The pearl chaser, the lover of all

 

Go and I promise you this,

I will let you jump of cliffs

if you wish, let you wear

all the growth rings of this life.

And when you are gone

I will kiss the horizon

keeping me level, make love

to the seas and the skies

 

And I will not miss your love

Because your love flows in the air,

it is the jingle of the spring

in every tree, it is the universe,

it is all around me

So go,  let your shallow bones

make you light, take care

of you in your flight

and lift you higher, to sit on the moon,

to crown you the groom of the stardust,

the gardener of the night sky.

 

Go and balance there,

in the nook of the crescent

and know this:

I will wait here

Until all the shores are abandoned,

until salt mummifies the ships

and sinks my heart.

 

And still then, I will wait

in the bottom of all oceans. I will

weave the waves into a soft blanket,

stitch my tears into a parachute.

So if you fall off the thinning moon

I can catch you, save you,

the way you saved me of bruises

when I first fell

 

For you.

20 Responses to “The faithful (Romantic Monday)”

  1. hastywords October 24, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Beautiful! And yes never enough love and romance!

  2. Edward Hotspur October 24, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    Yes, this was very… Let’s say I heaved a sigh of contentment after reading this. And I’m still smiling! I want to do this poem justice, so I will put it on #1 and #2 both. Even if you write another (which I would also link to).

  3. thecheekydiva October 29, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    Beautiful! The struggle of holding on and letting go so your lover can explore and be himself is so well captured by your words. Love it!

    • daydreamdaisies October 29, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Thank you, I appreciate that more you would know! Releasing my words into the wide world is still a bit scary, I’m really glad the poem reached you and conveyed emotion! 🙂

      • thecheekydiva October 29, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

        It certainly did. You are brave to let so much of yourself out there. To me, being silly is as far as I can go. I would be much too afraid to attempt something serious. I don’t know why, I guess my insecurities guide my writing. But I applaud writers such as yourself who really let us see your emotions, and through your words, feel them ourselves. Happy Romantic Monday!

      • daydreamdaisies October 29, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

        Oh thank you so much. It has taken me this long, 8 years of proper writing, to be brave enough to show these things. It’s even more scary because the poems here are the first ones for me in English, before I have only written in Finnish. But I totally understand you, writing can get quite personal, it can really get under your skin. Sometimes in my stuff, the setting is totally imagined but still, the emotions are real. But I must say, your feedback gives me tons of courage and joy to continue!

      • thecheekydiva October 29, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

        How do you say “Two thumbs way, way up!” in Finnish? LOL

      • daydreamdaisies October 29, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

        You don’t really say it. Now see why I switched language? Ha. You could high five me by saying ‘ylävitonen’ 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A LOVE ENDURED : A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords - October 24, 2012

    […] Daydreamdaisies […]

  2. Eternal Beloved – A Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur - October 24, 2012

    […] Daydreamdaisies – Romantic Monday: The Faithful […]

  3. Til Death Do We Part – A Haunting Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur - October 29, 2012

    […] Daydreamdaisies – Romantic Monday: The Faithful […]

  4. A REGRETFUL SILENCE – A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords - October 29, 2012

    […] Daydreamdaisies […]

  5. Romantic Monday « H.E. ELLIS - October 29, 2012

    […] Daydreamdaisies […]

  6. Romantic Monday-The Bonfire Effect Chapter 2 « The Cheeky Diva - October 29, 2012

    […] Daydreamdaisies […]

  7. Prelude To A Rainy Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur - November 2, 2012

    […] Romantic Monday: The faithful (daydreamdaisies.wordpress.com) […]

  8. Bittersweet Perfection – A Rainy Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur - November 5, 2012

    […] Romantic Monday: The faithful (daydreamdaisies.wordpress.com) […]

  9. Romantic Monday! Woooooo Hooooooo!~~ « The Cheeky Diva - November 5, 2012

    […] Romantic Monday: The faithful (daydreamdaisies.wordpress.com) […]

  10. Romantic Monday Bonus Post! « The Cheeky Diva - November 5, 2012

    […] Romantic Monday: The faithful (daydreamdaisies.wordpress.com) […]

  11. Romantic Monday The Bonfire Effect~Chapter 4 « The Cheeky Diva - November 19, 2012

    […] Romantic Monday: The faithful (daydreamdaisies.wordpress.com) […]

  12. I’M SORRY TOO – A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords - January 14, 2013

    […] Daydreamdaisies – Romantic Monday: The Faithful […]

Leave a Reply

