The art of falling (or art on falling)

14 Oct

The Falling Rocket (1875) by James Whistler

The beautiful painting above is my inspiration snippet for you today.  I like the mystery here, the hue, the luminous changes in shades even if the painter got accused of ‘flinging a pot of paint in public’s face’ when this was first exhibited. To make falling into art is simply genius, because when a clumsy fool like me falls down the stairs I can tell you, it’s far from art or anything pleasant to the eye. Anyway, I looked at the painting, felt curious and thought, challenge accepted. So here is my attempt on making falling into art:

Falling up

The clouds are rolling in now,

with their silver armour.

Harder than titan, rebelling Titan,

turning the world into heavy, chalky hue.

As they shake away the evening stars,

shrug them squalling, falling off their shoulders.

 

And I spin and spin as they rain on me,

I touch their sparkle and glow, I sow it

into my skin to stop it clattering

into darkness, cruelly blacked out

by the battlefield of the sky.

 

But then I see,

into nakedness they pull me,

the shooting stars, as I rub their glitter

over me till I’m glued to them

from my fingertips, melted, molded

and ironed flat to be their fleeting life,

the dying light, one forsaken by Apollo.

 

Yes, I see that I cannot see

and into nothingness they pull me,

the fallen stars, into used-up darkness,

black enough to still the sea and blur

the edges of this world, to tear apart

twinkling fireworks, fireflies and foxes,

to stretch out of all dimension

the red light of a fumbling dawn.

 

There, in the darkness,

lost in the shadow side,  I feel again

the drag of life, a stir beginning.

And a new wonder:

 

I need to let go of the stars,

the cloudy dreams they bring,

to own their spirit is to burn

but to sing of it is living.

 

So I let go of this illusion,

the squirming hook of hanging on,

the lingering, and merrily I fall,

I fall, I fall up

 

I fall back into life.

 

The photo from: artfinder.com, the painting by James Whistler

The poem © me, daydreamdaisies

4 Responses to “The art of falling (or art on falling)”

  1. divinerush October 14, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    Beauitful poem, you’re a very lovely writer! :]

    • daydreamdaisies October 14, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      Thank you!

  2. ruleofstupid October 14, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    to own their spirit is to burn
    but to sing of it is living.

    So true of so many things (there is no ‘wistful face’ emoticon!)
    ROS

    • daydreamdaisies October 18, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      I only just found this comment! Thanks a lot, your words encourage the amateur poet soul inside me more you would know! : )

Leave a Reply

