Seven wonders of the world’s back streets

10 Oct

I don’t know what you like to experience when you travel. Hot sand, the culture’s national dishes maybe? For me, it is dwelling in places. You know, walking aimlessly around, knowing you will get a little bit lost, thinking about the place you are visiting, trying to figure out the mood of the place. Picking little details out of the landscape or finding funny little buildings and thinking: ‘That is where I would live if I stayed here.” Casually dreaming.

Travelling is surprises.

Sometimes the control freak inside me takes over during my daily routines, but when I travel I make sure not to pack that part of me. When you wander around and look at things in a completely open way, you might just find a wonder in some abandoned back street. And it doesn’t have to be something no-one has ever seen before. As a matter of fact, it can be anything: a person, a sight, a passing feeling, an object that might seem a plain ordinary to someone else. The difference is what it means to you. The difference is that it makes you stop and look at your life from a different angle, strikes you as beautiful or extraordinary, impresses you, makes you feel something new.

Here are some of my accidental wonder-moments:

Found this little man on the rail on top of the Eiffel Tower, left to capture the views of Paris by some Slinkachu inspired traveller or by the man himself?

What are yours?

5 Responses to “Seven wonders of the world’s back streets”

  1. susanbright October 11, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    Love the pics!

    • daydreamdaisies October 12, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

      Thank you, glad you like it!

  2. David Emeron October 12, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    That Trompe-l’œil building is amazing even though viewed at not the intended angle.

    I wrote an intro/sonnet pair for you inspired by our recent exchange:
    http://davidemeron.com/2012/10/12/
    That link should “get you two for one,” as some might describe it.

    • daydreamdaisies October 12, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

      I know, it’s amazing! I think its the most beautiful thing in my whole home town. And thanks so much for the poems! Hope you like my answer too. : )

  3. writingtofreedom November 8, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    Wandering is great, especially when we are open to surprises. Then our wandering often becomes wonder! I’ve enjoyed many wonderful surprises while traveling or wandering. Great photo opportunities often come the same way.
    blessings, Brad

Leave a Reply

